Catherine Cronin with friends

While listening to Catherine Cronin talk about “open education for good” I heard several educators on the webinar share how their education practices and resources are meant to be used to benefit society and promote positive social change. I wrote this blog post during the Zoom webinar with images and screenshots from Catherine Cronin.

Open education aims to remove barriers to learning and make education accessible to all, regardless of background or financial means. It is grounded in principles of equity, inclusion and social justice.

OER enfoced by pedagogy

I have Open Educational Resources (OER) that are freely available learning materials that anyone can use, adapt and share. Making high-quality educational content openly available enables more people to access learning opportunities. I try to promote this concept to my students as they create their own Flickr resources. I believe this can lead to more engaged learning experiences focused on real-world impact. Open Education Licensing

While working with two international education organisations, I seek to connect to others who are motivated by a shared belief that education is a public good and a human right. I can feel the goal that open education advocate articulate for opening up education to ensure a more equitable, inclusive and sustainable future for all.

This blog post is suitable for reuse with CC-by-SA licensing.