Cycling in Ashgrove

Cycling to lunch youtu.be/vgBXL051f… because I need wind in my hair after I’ve hunched over my laptop for more than two hours straight.

There is nothing on a screen that is good as a breeze passing through my cycling helmet. Scrolling through screens is nothing like cycling around town. If anything, scrolling corrupts the creative process for me.

One of the most difficult workflow challenges I have to face every day is breaking free of handheld connectivity. You see, there’s an immense problem with all the firehouse of inputs I get when scrolling through the ideas shared by dozens of creatives who I follow. I need meditative physical rituals like cycling, jogging, or walking When I do those things I let my thoughts percolate and settle.

It’s so important to turn my attention away from my on-screen focus. My focus gets corrupted by email threads, social media posts, or pop-up ads, each demanding my attention. This barrage of stimuli often triggers a whirlwind of emotions and easily sucks my energy.

So, I’m empowered by cycling with my son or walking on the crushed gravel of the sports hub outside my campus.

Know what I mean?