My next Surface Laptop won’t have a model number but it will have a NPU inside. The laptop will need an NPU because it does so many clever things since the hardware is designed to run AI natively.

NPU on the Snapdragon delivers 40 trillion operations per second

The new silicon inside is capable of more than 40 trillion operations per second. The promo material promises all–day battery life–something I cannot get with a Surface Book because I spend at least three hours a day editing video.

I’ll be interested in seeing how Recall remembers exactly what I’ve been doing. I like the idea of generating AI images in near real-time directly on the device using Cocreator. And being able to create Portuguese and German Live Captions will be an instant hit with the RUN-EU programmes I work.

More: MSFT introduces Copilot+ PCs

Shop: Preorder for June 18

Download info about NPU: PDF

Copilot on screen